Summertime

by Admin

“And the living’s easy. Bradley’s on the microphone with Ras-MG. All the people in the dance will agree that we’re well qualified to represent the LBC”

Ah… summer. The one time a year where, blessed with so much freedom we can do anything we want. Well, almost anything. I for one would love to just hang out in my backyard, or someplace warmer, lying down and drinking milkshakes thicker than Susan Boyle’s eyebrows. But, despite being out of school (for now) and not quite into my summer job just yet, I still cannot.

Why? Because like most of you out there, I’m lazy. Lately I’ve been doing some coaching as well as some work for my uncle, but aside from that I’ve been relatively lazy. I know I just used that word, but at this time of night I have an attention span worse than Tom Hanks on Conan Tuesday night. Oh about Conan actually, here’s a paragraph on something that deserves its own post, but won’t get it.

I’ve been meaning to write a Conan post for a while now. Something about now that he’s back on the air, weeknights at 11:35 on NBC, my life is complete. Something about how, since I’ll be gone for sometimes more than a week at a time while working at camp this summer, I will be spending about four hours (no commercials thanks to TiVo) of my weekly day-offs catching up. Something about how with his third episode, featuring Julia Louis Dreyfus (Elaine from Seinfeld) and Bradley Cooper (The Hangover) he’s really arrived.

His first two were pretty good, but his third proves he’s found his bearings. The two guests were great, and he brought back popular Late Night sketch “In The Year 2000”, albeit with some changes. The show even made me hate announcer Andy Richter less and less, which is good also.

In typical Highway 35 fashion, we’re now over 300 words in and I’m finally getting to my point. Considering I almost fell asleep at 9:00 pm tonight and have to wake up in a few hours, I probably should’ve crashed long ago. Too bad that when I start writing I can’t stop, no matter how nonsensical it becomes. If you’ve read me for a while, hopefully you would have come to love these “Late Night Posts“.

Anyhoo, I’ll be working at the Y Country Camp this summer, running the Football, Lacrosse, and Golf specialties (collectively known as: FOLAGO, my invention.) As a Supervisor, I’ll have to attend two separate weekends up at camp, one for Supervisors, one for all staff. In addition to that, I’ll be working on three elementary school retreats held up at the camp. What that really means though, is that from June 9th until June 22nd, I’ll be up at camp, home for a day and a half, then back up on the 24th. What this means is I’ll have little time for blogging, especially updating the features I used to update a lot more frequently (Late Night Roundup, Pics, Videos, CH-Check It Out, etc.)

So with this kind of forced hiatus coming on, I figured I’d take advantage of this to make Highway 35 bigger and better. Think daily posts, or bi-daily at the worst. Think video blogs, but actual video blogs not what I’ve already done. Think better design. Think more interesting topics. That’s pretty much all I’ve got, plus the word “think” a lot.

I also have a new Facebook account, which you can see by clicking here. By becoming a fan of the blog on Facebook, you’ll have great access to hilarious/informative links, pictures, and videos, even when I’m too busy (or lazy) to blog. Plus, instead of having to be remembered to check the blog daily, you’ll get an easy reminder on your Facebook homepage, which you can choose to ignore if you wish. The point if this is making the blog and experience more user-friendly, and to provide you with great content, whether I created it or not.

So sit tight, it’ll be worth it. This blog is going to be Legen… wait for it…

