F*** YEAH ENDORPHINS!

by Admin

Wow, the title seems kind of angry after writing it, especially considering I’m way less enthused about writing this post then I was an hour ago when I got off the treadmill (yeah you heard me).

Those who know me pretty well know that for years I’ve been pretty lazy. I was considerably active in high school because I was on a number of sports teams, and I also played organized hockey multiple times a week. Once CEGEP hit, aside from Lacrosse season (August-Late October) I really didn’t do much on a regular basis. Scrawny for most of my life, once I discovered the magical properties of beer as well as all-you-can-eat buffets, I somehow managed to gain 18 pounds in a one-week cruise back in January ’07. Since high school I’ve gained about 45 lbs, and haven’t cared much about it until recently.

While I actually don’t care much about my weight, my self-depricating style of humour has gotten a bit old, so a couple of months I decided to do something about it and bought a pair of running shows. It was early October 2009, and about 11 months until the Montreal Marathon. For those of you who don’t already know, marathoners run about 42 kilometers (25 miles) in somewhere between 2.5 and 5 hours. Conseuctively. Obviously like most things I start I gave that up fast, and haven’t even cared until just a few days ago, this past Sunday to be exact.

For some reason I randomly remembered I once had a great iPod app for my iPod touch, and re-downloaded it. It’s called “Lose It” and tracks your calories, both consumed and burned. It has a great database of calorie counts for both food and excercise, and tracks the two in a really cool way. You start off by inputting your height, weight, sex, age, how much weight you want to lose, and at what rate (I put 6’2, 225 lbs, male, 20, 35 lbs, and 2lbs/week). Then it gives you a daily budget for calories based on that information. Mine came out to 2056, and that counts the amount you lose from working out. Not only that, but they have a great website also, loseit.com. There you can sync your iPod or iPhone and even get e-mails sent to you. I think that’s enough unpaid advertisement, but if you’re seriously considering using it (and I think you should) just get in contact with me (see top right) and I’ll give you some more information.

400 words in and I’ve finally reached the point of this post. Not to brag or anything, but since I started this “program” four days ago, I’ve started to feel great, mainly because of the working out. I’ve already lost close to two pounds, but I assume that’ll change by the end of the day. It’s probably this whole “endorphins” thing, meaning that there’s actual chemicals in your body that make you feel good when you exercise. I don’t even know if that sentence was accurate or sensical, but oh well.

The point is that my lethargic behaviour has drastically changed since I started doing this, and the funny thing is I haven’t even changed much about my eating habits (for example, yesterday I had a pogo, a hot dog, soft drink, and a poutine for lunch, and had a ten nugget trio from McDonald’s for supper, in addition to a number of snacks. Though I actually consumed over 3000 calories, which is well over my daily limit, I almost made up for it because of a few hours of skiing, finishing only 241 calories above.

Basically, you need to use this program Lose It, it’s free, and perfect. Plus working out/eating right is awesome, especially if you plan on living past 60. If the worst eater/laziest out of anyone I know (me) can do this, then surely you can.

